Showing posts with label Learning Cricket. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Learning Cricket. Show all posts

Saturday, September 27, 2008

Cricket News

Meanwhile Krishnamachari Srikkanth has been appointed as the new chariman of the national Cricket Selection committe succeeding Dilip Vengsarkar who finishes his stint as the national selector. The new selection panel comprising four other national selectors are Yashpal Sharma, Raja Venkat, Surendra Bhave, Narendra Hirwani and N Srinivasan.

Shashank Manohar has been selected as the new BCCI President( Board of Control for Cricket in India) succeeding Mr Sharad Pawar who is also the Union Minister in the Central Government of India and also the ICC ( International Cricket Council ) Vice President, the body responsible for the International affairs of Cricket in the world.

The new hierarchy in the BCCI also announced the national selection committee of selectors headed by Srikkanth will be on a national contract of 4 years which will be reviewed annually and the first such contract said to be paid by BCCI. The other notable transfer is Niranjan Shah who was the secretary and now has been appointed as IPL ( Indian Premier League ) the twenty overs a side cricket tournament played in India annually, the Cricket version of club football, a latest in the development of the game. More such tournaments are being scheduled to take place, with the latest Champions Trophy 20 20 version scheduled in December involving top Test Playing nations such as Australia, England, South Africa, Pakistan etc.,

All together Cricket has three versions which has International Recognition.
1. Test match Cricket ( Played over five days with two innings a side )
2. One Day Cricket ( 50 Overs a side, an Over comprises of six deliveries )
3. Twenty Twenty Cricket ( 3 hour, 20 overs a side format )